Scramble competitors.

The latest Buriram Golf Society Texas Scramble was held at Khao Kradong Golf Course on Friday,January 12. Eleven teams of three players (33!) turned up at around 7.15am for this very popular event.

A quick recap of the format for new readers:- Each player tees off and the best drive is selected. All three players play their ball from that spot. This continues until the ball is holed. Each player must have at least three drives to count.

A stableford score is calculated based on the team handicap allocated by the committee.

All the teams tee off at the same time on different holes, with two teams starting on the two par fives.

Conditions were far from easy with a strong wind making narrow fairways even tighter. The scoring was exceptionally high, due in no small way to the condition of the greens. I have long been a critic of the greens but I have to say they were excellent with the ball rolling beautifully.

Everyone had a great time as always and the scoring went as follows:

1:- Colin Bradwell, Alex Lowe and Peter Hughes  (h’cap 14) 49pts

Peter, Colin (fined 1point for dodgy hat !) and Alex.

2:- Peter Thripp, Michael Olsson and Brian Munnings  (h’cap 10) 47pts

Peter, Mike and Brian.

3:- Lynn Thompson, Dutch Holland and Kevin Musgrove  (h’cap 14) 46pts

Dutch, Kevin and Lynn.


4:- Bill Warren, Owen Simpson and Pedro  (h’cap  12) 45pts

Owen, Bill and Pedro.

5=:- Tony Murphy, Iain McRobbie and Peter Dempsey  (h’cap 13) 44pts

Tony, Iain and Peter.

5=:- Kade Robertson, Vince Murray and Marcos  (h’cap 10) 44pts


Vince, Marcos and Kade.

7:- Rod Young, Rene Nicole and Steve Young (h’cap 8) 43pts,

Rene, Rod and Steve.

8=:- Graham Dresser, Lindsay Warden and Roger Ribbins  (h’cap 7) 42 pts

Graham, Roger and Lindsay.

8=:- Keith Wood, Martin Moyle and Mike Picard  (h’cap 11) 42pts

Martin, Keith and Mike.

10:- Torben Plum, Tonny Johnk and Patrik Huckleberg  (h’cap 17) 40pts

Tonny, Torben and Patrik.

11:- Peter Bourne, Tommy Jackson and Malcom McKay  (h’cap 15) 36pts

Malcom, Peter and Tommy.

After the golf, the players made their way to the Harley,Route 288 bar for an excellent meal put on by Tom, Som and their staff. They provided a good choice of menu and it was much appreciated by all concerned.

There then followed the presentations, hosted by Peter Dempsey and Captain Keith Wood.

Nearest-the-pin on the 6th and 15th Colin Bradwell, Mi from the 288, Captain Keith Wood and nearest-the-pin winner on the 1st and 10th Peter Thripp.


Winners Peter Hughes, (Keith), Colin Bradwell, (Som from 288) and Alex Low.


Most improved Player of the Year award went to Tonny Johnk. (pictured above).

The President thanked everyone for their support and announced that the next event should take place around March/April time. Something to look forward to.


By Juninho